Living a Lie- Core Fears

We all have core fears that we operate day to day on. Say your core fear is abandonment, or loss of security, or any one of a hundred fears, that drives how you see the world and how you react to most things.

There are lots of ways this plays out, if something is said to you or someone doesn’t respond to a text or call. It could be any one of many situational happenings. Your core fear will determine how you react.

Let’s say that a text of phone call isn’t responded to and in the snap of a finger your core fear starts coloring how you react. For me, a feeling starts in my stomach that feels like I swallowed a burning spider. Before long that spider is spitting out burning spider webs in a million different directions.

If your core fear is abandonment (or whatever) the thoughts could go like this. My spouse will leave me, my friends will disappear, I will be left alone to care for myself, my retirement home will be the homeless shelter. You get my drift, one thing leads to another and before you know it your burning spider is taking a blow torch to your stomach.

All because you believe lies that Satan is really good at nurturing and growing. I am willing to bet there are some mighty lies living inside you and coloring your world. Satan is good at mighty lies.

So back to the not responded to text or phone calls (for example). The doubts and questions slowly start creeping in, at first, they are only smoldering but soon they burst into full flame propelling me to take action, any action to put out the fire in my gut because it is burning and it hurts. Those actions might include any number of harsh or stupid unproductive things, but boy do they feel productive at the time.

Up to this point the action I took usually did not include God…..and I wonder……..was that by chance, or by choice? Have I self sabotaged? Have I created an environment for my insecurities to be kept alive? Quite possibly.

There is work to do.

There are scripture that completely drown the thought that any one earthly person could take your security. I tried to find the “drown the burning spider” scripture but there are none.

It is all about believing from the same place that the spider is stirring up trouble, that what God says, God will do. Move that information to your heart.

Romans 8:38-39New International Version (NIV)

38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[a] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

This verse is very significant and can douse your burning spider. If this verse does not convince you that God will be there, nothing will. What an amazing feeling it is to read that and choose to just rest there. This is a comforting promise that says that no matter how you fear abandonment from those who occupy this earth with you and who may or may not walk away (they do have free choice) that it is impossible to be separated from our Lord.

Oh our God, your God and my God, is a good God. We don’t have to convince God to love us, He already does. It is His nature and His heart to join His life to ours and be one with us and us with Him. That means all of what we are, even the dark, burning spider side. That is something you can grab hold onto for dear life.

The rest will come.

Dottie

………..and so I ride

Leave a Reply

