The Love of a Child

She looked up at me with complete trust, this brand new little granddaughter I held in my arms. I knew then and there that it would be a life long love affair.

When she gazes up at me I can see complete faith in her that I will take care of her every need. She does not stress over it, she just knows.

This little girl soaks in the unconditional love that comes to her.

 She takes it without reservation and she closes her eyes and simply rests there.

She cannot yet understand what I say and she cannot yet see me clearly, but she knows nonetheless.

This is the kind of love that we often think we cannot possibly receive as adults. It is reserved for others.

Yet when we turn to Christ, He offers us that. As much as I love this little grand-daughter, the love I can give her does not hold a candle to the love Christ Jesus offers me. He takes me just as I am and He loves me. He offers me unconditional love that I can get no where else.

If only I had the same kind of faith of this child I hold in my arms. The kind of faith that says, I know you will take care of my every need Father, I will let you.

If only I had the same kind of faith that says I accept without reservation the unconditional love you offer me Father. I will receive it and rest in it fully.

The funny thing is, my Father knows my shortcomings and my fears and He loves me anyway.

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” Matthew 19:14

Leave a Reply

