Defeated Christians? Is that really our problem?

 
Christian life is so difficult to live. The question of the day revolves around “How do we live the Christian life when most days we feel frustrated and defeated? Cynicism, disappointment and hopelessness are very present companions.

Paul, in Romans 7:15 says it well. For that which I am doing, I do not understand for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate.

Well if that doesn’t sum up life in a nutshell I don’t know what does. It seems we have a problem that is keeping us from experiencing the serenity and freedom that we read about so often in the Bible.

We state our problems as any one of a number of things. My spouse, my family, my job, my friends, an addiction, you get the picture and you can fill in with your own list of problems that are robbing you of your life.

I think however, that we are deceiving ourselves if we settle on blaming external factors for our dissatisfaction with life.

I love this quote.

“Your problem is that you don’t know what your problem is. You think your problem is your problem, but that’s not the problem at all. Your problem is not your problem and THAT’S YOUR MAIN PROBLEM.”

Say what??

The real problem is that we must come to the understanding that the Christian life is not difficult to live, it is downright impossible. There is only one way to live the Christian life and that is to trust Jesus to be your life and live His life through you.

We cannot get our needs met apart from Jesus. I know it may seem that we do………..for awhile. But Jesus is our Provider of life,

 IN EVERYTHING.

Even God’s name Jehovah Jireh means “the Lord our provider, or the Lord will provide. He is our source for whatever it is that we need.

Can you trust your life and your problems to someone who is all knowing, who is everywhere all at once and who is all powerful? Can you say the same of anyone you are trusting now?

You can trust God with your problem, he is your shelter, refuge and hiding place. He is the one who comforts and heals. He is our source of wisdom. There is not one single thing you need that God cannot provide. He can do it all!

More than that, He wants to do it all. He has a plan for you.

Meditate on this verse today.

“And my God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4: 19

Dottie

…………and so I ride

Leave a Reply

