Seeking, Finding, Accepting

My devotions started in one place this morning but ended up in quite another. Bear with me.We live in a world filled with people who say they are seeking God but yet scuff and bristle at words of instruction or advice. I am not picking on anyone in particular here but am betting that more than a few people fit the category. It is you, it is me, it is the world we live in.

 Lets make sure that we do not fall back on human nature as our excuse to live out what we know is wrong. It may be easy to say that “it is just who I am and how I am”, but the bottom line is we all make our own choices as to how we are and who we are.

I ran across Proverbs 14:6 and 18:1 today. They are started with the following phrases, “A scoffer seeks wisdom and finds none” and “ He who separates himself seeks his own desire” .

Could it be those who are seeking wisdom from God and not finding it are in themselves their biggest roadblock? Just asking, if it hit a nerve maybe that deserves a bit more prayer? If we are setting ourselves apart from God then we are certainly seeking that which pleases us and not God.

Those same verses end this way, “He quarrels against all sound wisdom”. It is the old I know what I want, I am going to get what I will argue against sound wisdom with every excuse in the book, no matter what stands in my way. The truth is offered and often glaring right in front of us, but so is evil.

However, scripture also says that knowledge comes easily to one who is in the presence of God. Understanding and knowledge will increase in a wise person who seeks knowledge in the presence of God. That is truth and what will get you the kind of knowledge that is profitable.

Oh but here comes the part that gets me every time. What if the knowledge I am seeking comes in the form of another human? You know that God sometimes sends those more experienced in Godly living than we are? Yes He does, is it comfortable, no it is not. Does it bring anger, at times, yes it does, that is simply human nature. But scripture says that a wise and understanding man WILL find the knowledge he seeks if he stays close to God.

It is when we step outside the presence of God and scurry back to our human (flesh) nature that we find ourselves being offended and even angry at words of truth being directed at us. Make no mistake, that instruction and wisdom that makes us uncomfortable can come from reading scripture that goes against our human nature, it can come from God pressing down on you (the voice over your shoulder) it can come from Godly counsel from a more mature Christian. We are human, our first instinct is to say how dare you…..blah, blah, blah.

Step back into the presence of God and see what He has to say, He does not mean to provoke anger, that comes directly from the foothold Satan has found to cling to. God gives us instruction so that we may live in harmony with Him. He gives us wisdom so that we may know and accept our inheritance and live in full blown color with Him.

Perhaps Ecclesiastes 1: 13 says it best…..and I set my mind to seek and explore by wisdom and concerning all that has been done under heaven. ……….

Or how about this one, Ecclesiastes 7:25, I directed my mind to know, to investigate and to seek wisdom and an explanation, and to know the evil of folly and the foolishness of madness. Notice the very first statement, “I set my mind and I directed my mind”, it seems that the ball is in our court!

Try it, see how it works for you.

Dottie

…………….and so I ride

Leave a Reply

