CONQUERING THE FEAR INSIDE

I was “older” when I jumped on a bike after not riding for most of my adult life. Sometimes I think I am crazy, shouldn’t I be sitting back and taking it easy in my golden years?

Well, I have never been one to go with the status quo, as is true with most women who ride I suppose.

Let me tell you something about learning to ride a motorcycle when you are a woman,  I suspect it holds true for a woman of any age. Learning to ride will help you realize that you can conquer the fear that lives inside that binds us from living our life on our terms.

Learning to ride a motorcycle set us up for many unexpected situations and by navigating those situations successfully we learn we can work through any problem we encounter with the same logical and methodical practices.

You will find nothing more effective to get you out of your self-imposed box than a motorcycle.

Learning the technique and finesse of riding a motorcycle is absolutely related to overcoming other personal obstacles in life.

It didn’t take me long to learn that my motorcycle is an extension of myself- my mind, my body, soul and most certainly my hopes and dreams.

Time in the saddle can produce revelations that can be joyful or painful but revelations that can be won nowhere else. In just a few short miles (or a few long miles) I can experience joy, peace, fear, happiness, sorrow, and a personal sense of power and freedom that I have not found elsewhere.

I am a fairly traditional gal, I love God, my family and all that means. Yet I chose to ride a motorcycle, is that a contradiction? I hear, as we all do I suppose, that I am putting myself in danger, that I must have a death wish and that I am too old to be riding. The weary old dogs-new tricks theory I suppose. I have come to believe however that a life lived in constant fear of losing it is hardly living at all.

We that ride, challenge a lot of the social stereotypes without really meaning to. We push our personal limits and most certainly are getting out of our comfort zones. Riding as a woman is thrilling because it is unexpected and exciting. More than that however, riding is taking our destiny into our own hands and shaping it the way we want it to be. We are living life on our terms.

Life should not be only about getting older, but it should be about getting better and wiser and doing it in a way that makes us happy. My motorcycle makes me happy, but even more so the things riding my motorcycle has taught me makes me strong.

In riding, I have discovered a courageous, adventurous, independent, powerful and self-confident woman.

Dottie

…………………….and so I ride

A woman and her motorcycle

Leave a Reply

