Sufficient Grace

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9
“My grace is sufficient for you ”, now that is a totally underutilized wedge of truth straight out of the Bible.
We are all familiar with the scripture in 2 Corinthians that says “His grace is sufficient for us and His power is made perfect in our weakness.”
Our pastor talked about that scripture in passing this morning but it hit me like a jackhammer busting up a neon billboard. We have been dealing with some difficult but necessary decisions lately. My husband is having an easier time with the decision than I am (I am so proud of him). I know it is what we are supposed to be doing right now; there is no doubt in my mind. However, I simply cannot fathom my life without certain things in it, no matter what God is telling me. I have been close many times to saying, sorry but I just cannot do this. Can’t you leave me some wiggle room Father? Catch me at a later time God, we will talk again and maybe I will be more ready.
Actually, that last sentence should read, maybe I will be more willing.
When God says His grace is sufficient for me, He means it. He never did intend me to have to handle this alone; it is not how God works. God is asking me to do something that He knows full well that I cannot handle alone. Period.
He knows every thought in my head, every doubt, insecurity and my unwavering weakness and inability to go it alone. That is why He makes it plainly known in 2 Corinthians that I will not have to go this alone and it is going to turn out for His glory, no matter what “it is” turns out to be.
I believe that He is in the process of helping me to place my allegiances and priorities exactly where they need to be and that is on Him. Sufficient grace offers us unlimited power to change. It really is that simple.
 
Dottie
Leave a Reply

