I resolve not to resolve

I am not generally one for New Year’s resolutions, they usually get broken anyway. Plus anything worth making a New Year’s Resolution about is worth making a part of your life year round.

 

If I was a resolution maker one of the resolutions certainly would be to read my Bible more, understand it better and live it faithfully. But I am not so hang with me here.

 

This is something that I try to do daily but it is hard isn’t it? It is intimidating even before I open my Bible. I am a super-duper excuse maker; quite good at it I am told.

 

I’m tired, I’m busy, it’s boring, it’s too big, I don’t know where to start, I already know what it says, I hear it at church, or the best of all, I cannot understand it. I have probably said them all and I know I have heard them all and many more from others.

 

“I’m tired and I’m busy”. Yes, we live in a busy world and busy makes for tired. However, we always have time to eat and sleep. We never seem to lack the time to get on Facebook, watch movies, go fishing, camping, and motorcycle riding (sorry). We always find time for the things that are important to us, or the things we have fun doing.

 

“I don’t know where to start”, start at the beginning, in the middle, start right where a reading plan tells you to. I don’t think where you start reading your bible matters as much as when and if you start reading your bible.

 

“I already know what it says, I hear it at church” Yep but going to church for an hour a week will NEVER replace  reading and studying it for yourself, no matter how you try to spin it. After buying the newest, glitziest  handi-dandi gadget or the latest technology do you go home, put it together and use it as it was supposed to be used without reading the instructions (men please don’t answer this).

 

Then the excuse that is the granddaddy of them all, “I could never understand the Bible, it is ancient, irrelevant, confusing and over my head.  So I am not even going to try. I am going to give up before I crack a cover. Well, all I can say to this one is God has addressed it directly and it really leaves us very little wiggle room. Psalm 119:130 makes it pretty plain. 130 The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple.

If we dig in the Bible and unfold the words God has given us, we will understand. Our eyes will be opened and our mind illuminated as soon as we dig into the Bible.

I know it hurts to be called simple but seriously, think about it, when you read the above paragraph, you agreed (you know you did) that “not understanding” is a viable excuse to get out of reading your bible. God is simply telling us to come to Him as we are and He will provide us with the understanding we need.

 

Pretty cool huh!

 

Dottie

 

…………………….and so I ride

Leave a Reply

