A Father’s Greatest Gift

A Father’s Greatest Gift

Christmas was always my Dad and Mom’s holiday. Mom had dozens of boxes of Christmas decorations and her and Dad spent weeks putting them up. Dad’s expertise was the outside lights. Oh he complained but all we had to do was look at his eyes and see the sparkle and joy there and we knew it meant as much to him as it did to Mom and to us. It was something he did because he loved us but I know that he did it also because he loved to do it.

How I miss those meaningful days of holiday sparkle.

As hubby and I were riding around looking at Christmas lights in our town, most specifically the lights at Camplex Park, I thought to myself oh how I miss my Dad and his Christmas splendor. A sadness settled on my shoulders that was hard to ignore. The hurt runs deep at this time of year.  But almost instantly I heard a voice in my head that said to me, I have gone Sis but I have not gone far. Look around you. Don’t be sad, enjoy what I have left you with.

I knew then that somehow, some way, every Christmas light display I saw, Dad had helped with from heaven, if only to trigger memories for me of cherished times past. Suddenly driving around town gave me joy instead of sadness because with each bright and beautiful display came a cherished memory.

Everywhere I look now I see beautiful lights and I am gifted with beautiful memories. My Dad gave that to his kids, he leaves with us the wonder of Christmas. It was a gift that will last forever.

Just because he is not here to put up his display does not mean that the legacy ends. Where there are Christmas lights I will always find my Dad. Thank you Dad for instilling the wonder of Christmas in me and helping me to see that even though you are gone, you did not go far. I imagine the Christmas lights are extremely beautiful in heaven and I also know that you helped hang them star by star.

Merry Christmas to all

Dottie

………………………………and so I ride3D_christmas_trees

Leave a Reply

