A Time for Everything, God will decide

o Everything There is a Season

Ecc. 3:1-8 is quite simply life summarized.
Ecc 3:5 took me awhile to connect with.
I spent an hour this morning researching this piece of scripture. Every Bible commentary, every devotional and everything I could find had a little different slant on the same verses.
Then God said, close the books, shut off your computer and open your Bible, let me tell you what are in these verses for you.

Yes Father.

This has been a great study for me and an amazing time with God. Ecc 3:5 has significant meaning to me at this particular season in my life. God has plopped me in a situation where I have ample time to study and pray over what it is He is wanting from me and where He needs me to go. I believe He is helping me to discover the beautiful and unique rhythm of my life.
I believe that God uses all the seasons of our lives to shape us into what He desires we be. I am going to take this verse a little out of order but this is what God is giving me this morning.
“A time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing.” At this time in my life and maybe yours also, God is helping me to see and act upon the things I need to embrace and to understand those things that I need to refrain from embracing.
He is giving me good and wholesome things in my life that are morally and ethically right. He is wrapping those things (and people) around me and giving me the opportunity to soak in the light.
He is giving me a complete feeling of thankfulness for this chance.
With that growth I am finding the strength and wisdom, with His guidance, to refrain from embracing those things that are not good for me and tend to bring me down. When those distracting and destructive thoughts come, I am finding the power to cast them far from me, with His guiding hand of course.
Hand in hand with those things is the fact that God is helping me to gather the stones of who He is, what He represents and what that means to me. The stones I am gathering are helping to build a solid foundation that no one can knock down. Stone by stone I am learning the attributes of God, I am learning just how much He loves me, I am learning to love and revere this most important relationship. The wonderful thing is the stones are only representations of what is being built inside me. I can now take those stones of knowledge, truth and light and cast them towards those who long to find that solid foundation that only God can offer.

I guess to summarize it can best be put this way. God gives us seasons, He will call us to gather in some seasons, where we will be active and productive. In some seasons he will call us to scatter that which we have gathered. He will call us to embrace the good things and He will give us the reserves to refrain from embracing those things which would tear us down. For some this might very well be a series of separate seasons, but for me He has combined this into the same glorious and wonderful season.
I think you Lord for the wisdom and joy I am finding in this season.

Dottie
…………………….and so I ride
4-seasons-tree-wall-art

Leave a Reply

