I keep finding out that His ways are not my ways…………

God seems so silent sometimes. We pour out pour heart to Him, anxiously awaiting an answer. We are waiting for the encounter with him that heightens our trust and faith.

………and we wait, yet the unrelenting darkness settles in permanent fashion. Our prayer turns to cries of anguish as we are confused and dazed as He not only seems silent, the perception is that God is absent, unreachable and simply doesn’t care.

I often find God when I am riding my motorcycle, so when God has apparently taken a trip abroad, I jump on my bike and let the wind take me where it will.

Instantly a peace comes over me and moves within me. It is simply a feeling, not like God is talking to me or anything.

I am refreshed and comforted, again, just a feeling, nothing concrete from God.

I am still praying and still listening but so far the door is still shut. So I continue riding. I am waiting for the almost audible voice that belongs to my Father and that I have come to count on. But I get nothing.

Then a small critter runs practically under my front wheel but neither the critter or me are hurt.

I come into a corner to hot and hit the gravel parking lot, but glide up to the gas pump as if I meant to go through there like Evil Knievel.

Someone comes up to me while I am sitting enjoying my Diet Pepsi, it ends up we pray together and I am most blessed.

I round the bend and am graced with the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen.

God is like the wind because he is a guiding force in our lives. Even though you cannot physically feel or touch him you can feel his prescience. You can feel Him as He refreshes and comforts. You can feel him in the peace that is moving within you.

You can see His hand in an averted accident, in an incredible entrance into a gravel parking lot that should have by all accounts ended in disaster. You can feel Him as He settles between two kindred souls who are praying together at a humble outdoor wooden table. You can feel him as you take in the beauty around a whole lot of bends in the road.

We could look at Job 30:20 or Psalm 22:1-2 to see that we are not alone in thinking that God, at times, seems distant, absent or totally not at that address. But that is just how it feels, not how it is.

He didn’t make plans for our lives to give us a future and hope just to disappear on us.

We will not fear He has gone anywhere because we believe in the promises and not the perception.

And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Isaiah 55:8 for my ways are not your ways.

It seems I have to keep being reminded of this!

Dottie

………………………..and so I rideSilent_edited

Leave a Reply

