Don’t listen to worldly wisdom, trust in the one who lights your path.

“In any given moment we have two options: to step forward into growth or to step back into safety.” Abraham Maslow

I think this statement perfectly states how I am feeling right now. It took awhile to arrive here but I think that finally I am glimpsing at least a little of what God is trying to show me.

A quote was posted on my wall not too long ago and I “liked” it without too much thought because it seemed to fit with what was running around my head at the moment. The quote was “The worst feeling in the world is knowing you did the best you could and it still wasn’t good enough.” Right on I thought to myself as I hit that like button while my bowl of self-pity was getting fuller and fuller.

It’s been a tough year in our neck of the woods but where hasn’t it been a tough year, right?

Every time I turned around I felt as if the wind had been knocked out of me and a distinct and overwhelming sense of discouragement became a constant companion. It seemed if it could go wrong in the past eight months or so………..it did go wrong. It is easy to get sucked into thinking that someone is out to get you and you are facing Goliath all alone. It is easy to forget that a sense of failure is probably one of Satan’s favorite ways to influence your thoughts. He is whispering in your ear, if your best isn’t good enough you are not good enough.

Satan wages a pretty effective battle. But it is all lies.

Then subtly and quietly God has started planting a thought in my heart. Yes my child, there will be days your best is not good enough, but it was all you had to give and you gave it willingly.

If God is lighting your path and you are still stumbling along……………..God is still lighting your path. If your best efforts are met with defeat after defeat stand strong and be proud that God cares enough to hold you up as you stand through the fury that falls heavily when we stand for what is right.

The closer you draw to God the more Satan is going to draw a clear and definitive line in the sand. Step forward into growth and watch as God takes your hand and helps you walk right over that line in the sand. He can and He will be your mighty warrior.

Keep asking God to guide your steps and He will steer you right into victory.The only one your best has to be good enough for is God.

Dottie

………………….and so I rideGiving my best

Leave a Reply

