There must be something wrong with me.

Mark9_24_edited

I want nothing more than to seek God in everything I do, I want God in every part of my life and I want God to give me discernment for every decision I make so that every decision can be one that will bring Glory to Him. I want to seek not only God’s face but the very essence of Him. I want God to be the vapor that surrounds me every single second of every single day.

What trips me up is some days that seems so elusive and so hard to find. How do I take those beautiful words that I read in the Bible and live them day to day? The Bible is the premise which I am choosing to base my life on but it is difficult at times to take it from what is written on the pages and carry it into my day to day world.

You wouldn’t think it would be that way, it should be as easy as the Nike moto…………….”Just Do It”

But it never seems to work that way for me.

Or does it?

It could be (very likely) that the Bible or God isn’t what is making this seem difficult at times. It could just be it is me that is making this difficult.

I don’t think that trusting God comes naturally to any of us. We have to work at that. It takes faith. Faith is a gift that God gives us but a gift that requires maintenance on our part. We must renew our trust in our Father on a daily, no I take that back, we must renew our trust as often as necessary even if it is minute by minute.

Help me Father to overcome my unbelief. I am told in the Bible that all Scripture is God –breathed. That is a beautiful statement and additionally we are told scripture is “useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” (2 Timothy 3:16–17)

The word of God is living and active in my day to day life if I chose it to be. God has made it as easy as possible to transfer those words from the page to my heart. How many translations of the Bible are there? Surely I can understand one of them. There are oodles and oodles of reading plans and devotionals out there to help me with my day to day walk.

However, the best advice for understanding Scripture is quite simple, “pay attention to what is written but also, don’t forget to pay attention to the one who breathed it into existence.”

Dottie

……………and so I ride

Leave a Reply

