“It might have been!”

For of all sad words of tongue or pen
The saddest are these: It might have been this is originally from an 1856 poem, “Maud Muller” by John Greenleaf Whittier however it has been widely attributed to Kurt Vonnegut.

The part of that quote that intrigues me is “it might have been”.

There is an epidemic in the land, I am not writing of EBOLA but rather one much more deadly. I am speaking of Incognito Christianity. The symptoms are indifference and apathy. It manifests a couple of ways I think.

There is the Incognito Christianity Royalty, you know, the upright, decent and self-sacrificing ICR sufferer. They might hide and keep the fact they are Christians on the down low because they don’t act like Christians, they are less discriminating than they know Christianity demands, but because they know their actions would not be pleasing to other Christians, or certainly to Jesus, they keep right on doing what they are doing……………..because they want to. They don’t leave Christianity, oh no, they certainly don’t want to do that, but they keep their Christianity covered. If asked, they would probably say, oh yea, well actually I am a Christian, just not a very good one.

The other way I have seen if the Incognito Christianity Embarrasnasum. These are the people that, when asked about their religion say, well I don’t talk about it, it is private. I don’t talk about my faith and I don’t want to hear about yours either, so back off! However, in all actuality they are embarrassed by it, they are ashamed.

Just a word about that before I go where God is directing me to end up…………..

Yes, our faith and relationship is private and between God and us. If you live for Christ it is bound to be a deeply personal thing and it will be a private thing to a certain degree. I firmly believe however that the things Christ is giving you in your personal and private relationship with Him will probably be important and noteworthy enough that it will spring forth from one’s private life into their public life and transform that in the same way it has transformed your heart.

Faith without works (and words) is dead.

Now, follow me here, the symptoms we just read about are bad enough but what about when we get to the end of our existence and all we have is the nagging question wrapped around us that is filled with emptiness and a forlorn sense of a chance wasted? And the phrase “what might have been?” won’t let you rest.

These symptoms (indifference and apathy towards your Christian walk) will lead to the diagnosis of regret. The regret of a life wasted, the regret of the glories that Christ offers us, regret of a chance ignored and taken to lightly

2 Peter 2:21 comes to mind here.” It would be better if they had never known the way to righteousness than to know it and then reject the command they were given to live a holy life. “

I want to know the feeling of being a true disciple of Jesus Christ, I want to know the rewards of following, learning and imitating the Great I am.  I want to feel the passion of the Christ and reap the rewards of loving the One who loved me first and loved me best.

Matthew 4:19 And He said to them, “Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.”20Immediately they left their nets and followed Him. 21Going on from there He saw two other brothers, James the son of Zebedee, and John his brother, in the boat with Zebedee

their father, mending their nets; and He called them.22Immediately they left the boat and their father, and followed Him.

I want to be a fisher of men and take great comfort in the fact that who I am today is the direct result of what I did in my past.

I don’t want who I am today to be diminished for one second by the nagging thought, “it might have been.”

The only way to be a disciple of Christ………….is to be a disciple of Christ.

Dottie

……………..and so I ride.

Leave a Reply

