The Love of God

You know, a lot of the time it seems that we humans really don’t like ourselves that much.  If we hold ourselves with such contempt it makes me wonder how in the world God loves us so much?

Is it just me that wonders this stuff?

Rich Mullins said it so perfectly, when we are hurting and life just isn’t going well people like to say everything will be ok because God loves you……………so what…………God loves everybody and our lives are still a mess. That comment really struck me as almost brilliant, in a perverted sort of way.

When we come to the end of our days are we going to be able to say with all honesty that we knew the depth of God’s love for us?

Think about it.

How many of us can let go of enough control in our lives to experience the true depths of God’s love? Do we have the capacity to understand the multi-dimensional, multi-layered, depth and width of a love like God has for us. Are we brave enough to experience that kind of love?

I have thought a lot about hope and faith in the last week or so and I have come to the conclusion that the love of God is not always apparent to us but just because we can’t see, feel or touch it doesn’t mean it isn’t there and doesn’t mean it isn’t real.

Letting the true depths of God’s love wash over us is an act of faith I think, it is believing God loves us, living like God loves us even when it is hard to discern that love. We are finite beings believing in an infinite love. That is difficult at times.

I have to break it down to what I know (you know, the research thing).

This infinite God has intervened personally for me, He became finite (human) and walked the same world I live in. He not only walked under the same sun, moon and stars as I do, He gave all that up and died for me. The kicker is He lived a pure, sinless life and died for me, who certainly never has and never will live a sinless life.

Jesus didn’t die a peaceful death surrounded by people who loved Him. Agony doesn’t even begin to describe what He went through.

It is so often said that God gave his only son for us, but I think that is the biggest understatement of all time. When I stop to think of the real depth and width of that gesture I start to get an inkling of His love for me. He reached down from heaven and touched my life personally with the blood of his Son.

I read somewhere and never thought of it to much until tonight…………that the love God has given us is not a philosophical observation or some scientific concept. It is so much more than that, it is a living, breathing thing that joins us with our Lord.

I don’t think we can ever hope to even begin to understand the depth of a love like that. Do I believe He loves me like that? Yea I do because I can feel His breath on my shoulder when He whispers in my ear “I love you my child not in spite of who you are but because of who you are. You are a child of the Most High. “

I dare you to believe it.

Dottie

……………and so I ride

  1. Could we with ink the ocean fill,
    And were the skies of parchment made,
    Were every stalk on earth a quill,
    And every man a scribe by trade;
    To write the love of God above
    Would drain the ocean dry;
    Nor could the scroll contain the whole,
    Though stretched from sky to sky.Love of God
Leave a Reply

