Hope……..it’s all it’s chalked up to be

It’s been a tough summer; well actually it’s been a tough year. Major surgery, watching my Dad pass, a work situation that was so critical and preposterous it borders on stupid and last week I got the worst news a Mom can get.
I admit, it brought me to my knees. My world felt like it was crashing around my shoulders.
It is hard to remain hopeful when you have already lost what you hold most dear and are in danger of losing even more. It is hard to remain hopeful when you hear “the odds are not in our favor”. Suddenly life is no longer as it was. Life is hard when it makes no sense at all.
As long as I was already down on my knees, I stayed there awhile because in all actuality, I was incapable of getting up. God reminded me that life will be life, deal with it.
That is the secret actually, choosing how we deal with “it”.
I was reminded that I had a full bucket to help me deal with tough situations. At the end of the day I am surrounded by friends that know the true meaning of friendship, I am surrounded by a husband and three wonderful sons that give more that they receive, I am surrounded by a sister, brother, nephews, Mom and other family who give support, sunshine, comfort and laughter every second of every day. I have a wonderful job, wonderful staff and we are making a difference in Gillette.
The truth is, the sun is probably going to come up each morning, I am probably going to be around to see it, I am probably always going to have a job to go to, food to eat, and some sort of clothing to wear. I am probably going to be able to ride my motorcycle for a good long while and live a life that is comfortable and meaningful.
None of those things however are guaranteed to us.
Staying positive helps, affirmation and solid core messages help, but as important as those things are, there is only one place that I can dwell that is going to bring me through this.
God can get us through, of that we can be sure.
1 Thessalonians 4:13 Brothers and sisters, we do not want you to be uninformed about those who sleep in death, so that you do not grieve like the rest of mankind, who have no hope.
Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

2 Corinthians 4:16-18 So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.
Romans 12:12 Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.

Hope………..fix your eyes on what you cannot see, there you will find eternal rest.

Need I say more?

Dottie

………………..and so I rideHardships

Leave a Reply

