God Does Give Us More Than We Can Handle………………….I Guarantee It

We have all heard the sayings, God doesn’t give us more than we can handle, if He brings us to it He will bring us through it and even in scripture it says that all things work together for the good to those who love God. We often kid that we have no trouble handing our troubles over to God but the troubling part is leaving them there. We are a people to love to maintain control over our lives.
I don’t want to be consumed by what I went through with my Father as he died and I don’t want to over focus on it but I do want to use the experience to point out some things that I learned from that experience.
Watching Dad die was like trudging through every level of hell in slow motion and at heightened sensitivity. It was all consuming and is still very alive to me. With that said, as horrible as it was, I felt God’s presence washing over me day after day, God was so present it was almost like I could reach out and touch him. The moment Dad died was not horrific, it was peaceful and God was fully present for both of us. Dad literally passed from my hands to Gods hands.
God does give us more than we can handle, I guarantee you He does. He wants us to need Him. He wants us to cry out to Him when we can no longer bear what is going on around us. The funny thing is even though I felt God so strongly there were times I was tempted to (and did) forget He was there. It was easy to ignore His presence and fall back into the struggle of handling things my way instead of letting the comfort and strength that was literally washing over me carry me through the struggles.
It is the control freak that lives inside me I suppose and now I know that to some degree anyway that control freak is guided by Satan. God had his ways of getting my attention back on Him however. When I was focused on what God was doing in that room I was content, comforted and supported. When I let my attention wander the days were torture and filled with chaos.
This might sound simplistic and let me tell you for certain…………………..it is simple.
“Come unto me, all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn of me………..for my yoke is easy and my burden is light. (Matt 11:28-30)
It was wonderful being surrounded by my family and the many friends who came in. They offered comfort and support in their own way. However none of them could substitute for the presence of God in that room.
It was a valuable lesson for me.
Dottie
……………………..and so I ride
Matthew 11

Leave a Reply

