Going Home

DadHe is there in times of trouble and times of turmoil. There is lots of scripture to reinforce the fact that this indeed is true. In Deuteronomy it tells us that God Himself goes before us and will fight for us. Psalms showers us with an abundance of the comfort that God offers us. He is our stronghold, our light, and our salvation. He is our confidence and our unfailing love.
Well, I think that I got special training in pursuing the truth of these statements. It is a special kind of agony to watch a loved one wither and leave this earth. To need them here but to want them to go is a pain I wish on no one.
When the hospice nurses tell you to tell them that it is ok to go rest now, that they have your permission to leave and find the light, if you were like me, your first thought was………..no.
Then on second thought I found that an answer of “no” was more for my benefit and not for my Dad. Telling him it was ok to go meant that I had to come to grips with the enormity of what I was losing. But wait a minute, wait just one dog gone minute. Isn’t that discounting totally the enormity of what Dad was gaining?
My Dad is being taken home very, very soon, much to quickly for me. It is easy to get stuck in the sorrow and pain of living without him. I can’t stay in the sorrowful place, I am concentrating on the wrong thing. I can rest assured and celebrate the fact that he is indeed being taken home. The legacy he leaves us is priceless but the prize he is about to gain is irreplaceable, incomparable and precious.
So yes, I whispered those words in my Dad’s ear…………….”it’s ok to go rest now Dad. God is here with us and always will be, He will take care of us. Now you go rest my dear Father, God is waiting for you.”
Dottie

Leave a Reply

