A time for everything

When God puts you flat on your back the phrase “A time for everything” takes on a whole new meaning.  

I have always taken a lot of pride in keeping my life balanced and keeping things running smoothly.  Then suddenly when God puts you flat on your back “until further notice” it is hard not to try to keep balancing all the balls.

It didn’t help to ask “Why now?” I kept forgetting that God’s timing is certainly not my timing and that this season was handpicked by God for a particular reason. It didn’t matter that this season is not particularly my favorite and there are a lot of other seasons that I would enjoy a whole lot more.

But how do you respond to God when He places you in an inconvenient, uncomfortable and unpleasant season? Well. I could whine and certainly have been known to, or I can look at this as an opportunity to learn something more about God, to learn something more about me and to figure out how to fit the two together.

I was thinking on this situation in a little deeper fashion and it seems to me that God is all about making all things new. Revelation 21:5 says “He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”
 Now, the thing is when He makes all things new, He does it in different ways. He might use a new person in our lives, a new community, or He might work from within us, there are lots of possibilities.

By taking the time to commune with my Father at this time I am able to discern if the direction I am going is the direction God would have me go. Sometimes you have to let go of the old and familiar before you can grasp onto the new. I think that sometimes we even hold onto things that aren’t good for us just because it is easier than journeying into the unknown.

However, when God is calling you to transition or to change, it is probably good to take notice. For some of us, change is easy, and exciting. For some though, it is downright scary. Whichever side you come down on rest assured that you will be faced with transition at some point. This is also the time to note that God is with you, and He will be there every step of the way and He wants to heal us and restore us.

Maybe this time of refreshing that God is putting me through is for my own good? It might be a wonderful time to pause and take inventory to see if I’m still on track with what God has planned for me. Actually I can’t think of a better way to spend time recovering that praying and seeking God.

I know that God will fill me with His grace, His courage, His strength and His love and His compassion and as that is happening my time of rest will become more restoring and rewarding.

 

Dottie

………………….and so I ride

 

Leave a Reply

