Hope for the Heart

imagesI am sitting here in my bed and vowing to listen to my Dr the rest of the time I am recovering. Orders are to rest and stay pretty close to home. This past couple days has given me ample time to ponder.

The pondering tonight was on Hope for the Heart Biker Church.

Tonight was the first “official service” of Hope for the Heart Biker Church. I was not supposed to be out of bed but I could ‘t stay home.

What I am pondering is the fact that God has brought us together with a group of amazing people to spread the Gospel. I am also pondering on the fact that He is using motorcycles to do that. To those of us who ride, this is no surprise. There is no better way to start a conversation than with your bike.

Bikers are also people that at least during the riding season, are apt to be out riding rather than in church on a Sunday morning. God seems to have missed no detail in planting this church when He suggested Friday evenings, it is a great way to start a weekend ride.

Testimonies were given last night, and the story of how God whispered this church into reality. There was no pretense, there was no hierarchy, there was only the love of God and the unquenched desire to let as many know of Him as we are capable of reaching.

I will be the first to tell you that those who ride motorcycles are a special breed of people with a common thread binding us all together. If God has told you to get on your bike and minister, you do it, if God has told you to plant a biker church you do it.

Does this mean it is not scary? Absolutely not, stepping out of our comfort zone is hard for all of us. Does this mean that Satan won’t throw every monkey wrench into the works that he can in the hopes of crippling this new church. Absolutely not, before the first service we saw jobs lost, medical emergencies and crippling fear, and those are just the troubles I know about.

However, just as Satan knows, God wins!

Stand on the truth because we know that God won’t lie to us, it is impossible for that to happen.

God will never stop being, He is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. I don’t know about you, but to me that is remarkable and so comforting.

One service, the first service and this is what I got. Comfort, confidence, worries were replaced by thankfulness, I found hope and joy and deep down inside happiness.

I truly believe that God loves all of us and is seeking us out, He is preparing the way and He will take care of us as this church grows. How do I know this?

“I’ve seen the lighting flashing,
I’ve heard the thunder roll,
I’ve felt sin’s breakers dashing,
Trying to conquer my soul;
But I heard the voice of Jesus,
Telling me still to fight on,
Because He promised never to leave me,
Never to leave me alone.”

 

Dottie

……………..and so I ride

 

Leave a Reply

