True Friendship

Life is measured by defining moments.
You live through, learn from and apply to them to your life. Some will serve as lasting lessons some are temporary.

Loving someone with Christlike love (John 15:3) became a real and living thing to me this weekend. It is no longer simply an abstract thought, I have real examples to draw from.
Philippians 2:3 was put into real life practice as long awaited plans were changed simply because there was a friend in need. I cannot adequately explain what it does to a hurting heart to be gathered around, placed in Christian protection and unconditionally and unceremoniously really, ministered to. No blame, no words of what it cost them, simply unconditional pure and healing love.

To be held up emotionally and to be ministered to spiritually gives strength where you think you have none and encouragement when you are feeling nothing but defeat. Hearts are impacted and needed words are delivered with truth and grace.

True christian love shares genuine caring and concern, christian love involves acting and doing and expecting nothing in return. Christian love lets you wail your agony ( for awhile, lol ) without fear of judgement or criticism.

Jesus said, “…Love one another, as I have loved you” (John 15:12). I have heard that scripture many times, I have told others that scripture many times. I have never saw that scripture in action, until now. The reality of those words are much more beautiful than the theory.

I was thinking about Ephesians 1:6 and what it means to be truly accepted for who you are. To be accepted not in spite of who we are but because of who we are. What a wonderful thing to watch and to receive!

To be accepted and acknowledged fully felt like snuggling in warm blankets and being able to fully rest. To be assured of understanding without judgement but with compassion and tenderness is a gift offered with grace.

This is for true Christian friends. You know who you are. You comforted at a time when comfort seemed out if reach. You made me a better and stronger person. You lent me a hand you gave me my smile back you showed me honesty and clarity. You did that without expectations and you did that unconditionally. You showed me Christ’s love and for that I thank you!

Dottie
……….and so I ride

20140526-043230.jpg

Leave a Reply

