Note to Self- You may read if you need to think about keeping commitments also

Note to Self- You may read if you need to think about keeping commitments also J

Commitments are not just words you say, they are actions you keep.  Wow there’s a thought, think about New Years Resolutions.  By definition a commitment is a decision to do what needs to be done, whatever the cost. Read that again…….whatever the cost.

That seems like it should be easy but I am ashamed to say that I am as bad as anybody else in offering a commitment but when the time comes to fulfill that obligation, any excuse will do.

There are lots of areas in life this can pertain to, promises to ourselves, promises to others, when you get a pet you make a commitment, when you get a drivers license you make a commitment, the list is endless. How often do we find ourselves slipping or completely ignoring the commitments we make?

We promise ourselves that we will save money by not eating out so often but when we have had tough days at work we say, well just this one time. Then at the end of the month you realize you have eaten out more than you have eaten at home. You make a commitment to help with something for a friend but when the time comes you are too tired, to busy, etc. Our pets don’t get walked and exercised like they should and we continue to break the laws when we drive, texting and driving, prime example.

You get my drift. If it doesn’t seem like a priority at the moment, more than likely it won’t get done, no matter your previous commitment.

I’m not calling anybody out here, this is strictly being written for me and a certain commitment I made that I don’t feel I have been living up to.  I am writing this morning about a commitment I made by joining CMA.

I think it is pretty common to join an organization and have good attendance at first but soon it slips on your priority list for one reason or another and as it goes lower and lower on the list participation drops. Is that fair to the organization as a whole and is it fair to the fellow members of the organization? Probably not.

With your commitment of joining comes responsibility, but lets back up a bit.

What does the Bible say about our commitments? Lots – and words about commitment are not minced. Numbers 30:2 says if a man vows a vow to the Lord, he shall not break his word, he shall do according to all that proceeds out of his mouth. Ecclastiasted 5:4-5 says not to delay paying our vows, it is better that you don’t promise rather than promise and not pay. Perhaps Psalm 89:34 says it best. I will not violate my covenant or alter the word that went forth from my lips.

It doesn’t get much plainer than that. If you make a commitment – keep it.

I guess what makes me write about this today is the fact that I have been incredibly busy at work, there is a grant due, we are in the process of moving our school and switching fiscal agents. You know, life happens. In the meantime, I have been letting my commitment to CMA slip. Last night I missed a ride. Last winter I seldom made Bible study.  I always claimed to be to tired, to stressed from work , etc. there was an excuse a day.

Last night stress from work was affecting my tummy so I opted to stay home. I could have rode, but I chose to wallow in my stress. I guess that means I didn’t trust God enough to ask for the strength to do what I made a commitment to do. Ouch and I apologize.

There are times we genuinely must miss functions and everyone understands that but when you start missing more than you are attending maybe it is time to re-evaluate what is going on.

Lets make some comparisons here.

Humans: We are too tired to go to meetings, to go on organized rides, to show up and promote the cause of the Kingdom.

God: For God so loved the world He gave His only son…………….John 3:16

Humans: Can’t afford to ride or eat with the group because I had a few to many stops at Starbucks this week.

God: God decided to save a lost world. The cost was the cruel, despicable death of His only son.

Lets face it, there is power in a gathering of our members, I have seen it work. There is especially power when we ride and our colors are blowing in the wind. When we chose to forsake the gathering for selfish reasons, we forfeit a portion that power.

When we choose to disobey and not honor our commitments the effects are much more than is apparent to the eye. As Christians others are watching us, if we don’t think the early morning CMA meeting is important enough to go to, others are watching. They could very well chose to take the same opinion. Thus we lose potential members.

If we don’t make every effort to make the rides we have made a commitment to, others will think it isn’t important enough to do either. I can hear the rumble, well the members of that club don’t seem to like to attend the meetings, I think I will find another club.

Yes, we can grow weary. Yes, motivation will grow dim. Yes, we will put other things in the more important category than fulfilling our commitments to CMA but we have not yet been the ones who witnessed the shedding of blood of the innocent one, for our salvation. Sure we know there was great suffering so that we might live eternally, but knowing is different than taking it to heart and living like we “know” it.

What Christ has done for me, what Christ does in me and what Christ well continue to do for me, that should be enough motivation to get out there and fulfill my obligations.

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light’ ” (Matt. 11:28–30).

Image

Dottie

………………..and so I ride

Leave a Reply

