We have all seen it  ……………………. We have all done it.

Image

Judging others.

My thoughts are kind of bouncing around tonight on this subject and won’t settle in one place so I will just start typing and see where God takes me.

There is a new church for bikers (or anyone) being started in town. I helped with the flyers and some of the quotes we put on the flyer were “bound by Christ, a passion for bikers and the freedom of the open road” and “Black leather, tattoos, and jeans (proper Sunday attire). It is the last quote that has given me pause for thought.

I think we as bikers , right along with any other group of people who are “different than the norm” really relate to being prematurely and unfairly judged.

When I ride my motorcycle I wear leathers, jeans and I have tattoos. I look every bit the biker but I am the same person that sits in the Executive Director’s Chair at the school I run, I just look different. That different look brings different reactions from people and sometimes that happens before I say a word to whoever has decided to judge by my appearances and not my heart.

We are pretty good at casting stones at someone who looks different that we do.

Did we stop to think as we are judging those who look, dress or act differently than we do,  that they are more than just sinners, or weird dressers or whatever, they are our potential brothers and sisters.  

God has laid it on my heart to do motorcycle ministry work and that is why it thrills me (but doesn’t surprise me) that God has laid it on someone’s heart to plant this church. Unless you have done it, you can’t understand the feeling when you are riding on a Sunday morning and decide to stop for a church service and you walk into the church in your leathers, jeans and tattoos. Sometimes you can actually sense that someone is making a beeline for the offering plate to make sure it stays where it is supposed to.

We all have been guilty to one degree or another, of judging people before we know them.

People will say, well that is just human nature, however, just because it is human nature does not make it right.

Maybe we should strive to really “see” what we are looking at before we pass judgment.

All of us commit sin, we are all sinners, but yet there is a lot of casting of stones going on. Look at Matthew 7: 1-3 Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?

 

Leave a Reply

