James 1:12 says: “Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life.”

 

Image

When you are a Christian you hear the word persevere all the time. We are not only to persevere but we are to do it with a “good spirit”. That brings the phrase “yea right” to my mind. That’s a good thought in theory but a darn sight harder to maintain when life gets tough.

We all go through those times when we have to dig deep for the stamina just to make it through the day. It takes courage, compassion and conviction to make it through any day, but the days I am talking about are the days you can’t find the motivation to be nice let alone act with courage, compassion and conviction.

Image

I’ll be the first to admit that on days I am being taught to persevere I fail miserably. If we are talking in quotes and phrases here, I am more the “back me into the corner and I’ll come out fighting” kind of girl and believe me, that doesn’t always look pretty.

But once again, maybe my perspective is wrong. Instead of fighting in the wrong way, and a way that gains me nothing, I might think about fighting to see that the perseverance produces character, compassion, and tolerance.

Fight the right way and let perseverance do the job it was designed to do, sanctification.

Image

Dottie

………………and so I ride

Leave a Reply

