Promises not explanations, it is a pretty familiar quote that is easier to say than live.

My Mom called me today and said Dad has been steadily going downhill and the last three days the change in him has been startling. It makes me want to ask God why. I suppose it must be the same for anyone facing hard times of any sort. I like to have answers to things that I do not understand, I want explanations, I tend to demand answers for why this is happening to us or our loved ones.

 

I wonder what we would do if He did give us explanations for what He does? Would the answers really help us? His ways are not known to us and even knowing the answer might not help us to see the big picture.

Do we remember in the painful times that when we hurt, God hurts as well? When I am asking “Why God, aren’t I really just seeking satisfaction for my doubts, am I showing a lack of trust? Maybe I am trying to live by explanations and not trusting the promises?

 

Maybe I am asking the wrong question, instead of Why God, maybe I should be asking God to help me trust Him, for it is true that no one can do for me what He can. I think that during times like we are going through with my Dad, it is pretty easy to be distracted and that is exactly what we need to do everything in our power to prevent.

We are promised strength and His hand to uphold us, but it is easy to be distracted when the going gets tough. It is easy to let discouragement and fear divert our attention from the promise God gives us of renewing our strength.

 

I love Isaiah 40:31, so much so that I have a tattoo of it so I will never forget God’s promise to me.

Isaiah 40:31

“but those who hope in the Lord

will renew their strength.

They will soar on wings like eagles;

they will run and not grow weary,

they will walk and not be faint.”

 

The thought that God will not only help me through this, He will see to it that I am given sufficient strength to do it. That is priceless, truly.

Proverbs 3:5-6 says it perfectly also:

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart

and lean not on your own understanding;

6 in all your ways submit to him,

and he will make your paths straight.[a]

 

I saw a quote that said “when the world says give up , hope whispers, Try it one more time.

 

I think that is wonderful advice.

Image

Dottie

 

……………………..and so I ride

 

Leave a Reply

