Nice Bike!

 

 

Being a Christian comes with certain duties, like telling others about the sacrifice of Christ. I read a recent survey that showed despite feeling the responsibility to do so, most Christians do not share their faith. It was a survey of over 1,000 Christians, over 78 percent said they had not shared with someone the way to become a Christian. We can just look in Matthew 28:19-20 and read that we are commanded to share God’s good news. For some, sharing the gospel comes naturally but for others, like me, it is a fearful thing.

Matthew 28:19-20

 

19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

 

 

The obvious thought is what if the person rejects what I am saying to them, are they thinking I am some sort of religious nut, are they thinking I am being overbearing and pushy or are they thinking I am just insane. What if I don’t know enough, I might offend someone, I might be ridiculed, or I might fail. You get it, it can be a scary thing.

 

What I was not thinking was about God being a participant in this whole picture. It is easy to forget that the God I am telling others about is right there beside me, He wants me to spread the Gospel, He is going to be right there helping me.

 

God isn’t going to throw me into a motorcycle ministry and just leave me hanging. I have to believe that God will guide my words and prompt me about proper timing.

 

I  believe that just as I felt a prompting and a yearning for God, so do some we run into on the road, God places certain people in our paths for a reason. However just because God placed them in our path doesn’t mean we should go at them with both guns blazing hot.

 

It is hard to approach the subject of spirituality in the course of everyday conversation. But when I start backing down from my conviction of wanting to share God then it really isn’t a conviction at all, its just an inconvenience. The question probably shouldn’t be should I minister to this person but rather, how should I minister to this person?

 

I know that I am supposed to be spreading the gospel, I just need to find a way that works for me and brings glory to God. I can do this by talking to God and inviting Him to come along with me on my mission field, I can do that by knowing what I am talking about by doing my homework. I can do that by walking just a bit closer to God .

It would make no sense what so ever to walk up to someone randomly and out of the blue ask if they wanted to talk about Jesus, it just doesn’t seem like a good way to share the gospel.

I think a good way to start a conversation would be…………….”nice bike”! I know from experience the conversation just flows from there.!

 

Dottie

………………and so I ride

ImageImage

 

 

One thought on “Nice Bike!

  1. Shelly says:

    Anything we can do to make conversations about our Lord and Savior easier is a blessing. We need to recapture our boldness. After all, we were not given a spirit of timidity but one of power. Be blessed today and find a way to bless someone else.

Leave a Reply

