Being a Christian everywhere, its not an option.

Being a Christian

Everything we do should point back to the fact we are a Christian. For the most part that isn’t a hard or uncomfortable thing to do, especially in our homes. However, as I have found out over the last year or so,  being a Christian and being the Boss brings with it a whole other set of problems.

The expectations are the same, the results you strive for are the same but the rules are completely different. You have to figure out how to incorporate those personal beliefs into all you do at work.

It can be a fine line to walk, at best. You have to ask yourself continually what do my employees see when they look at me. You have to remain in emotional control, you have to have insight, discernment and wisdom and you have to apply it, you have to keep your word and keep the center of attention off yourself.

In every situation, in every mood and every circumstance the Christian boss must display love and joy, peace and patience, kindness and goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control all the while doing their job . You want your employees to see Christ in you because if they see anything else they will be convinced that to be a Christian means believing one thing and acting in quite another way when the going gets tough. It would be pretty tough to convince them that Christ is worth following if all they see are inconsistencies and mixed messages.

Colossians 4:2-6 says it pretty well, “devote yourself to prayer, being watchful and thankful. And pray for us too, that God may open a door for our message, so that we may proclaim the mystery of Christ………………Be  wise in the way you act to outsiders, make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation always be full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.”

Pray about your employees and your clients speak in truth and love and watch for the moments that God opens the door for truthful and meaningful conversation. These opportunities come up as a good boss takes the time to have a relationship on a meaningful level with their employees. The door will never have to be forced open, God has this part down!

Biblical principles can be found. Colossians 4:1 “Masters grant your slaves justice and fairness, knowing that you too have a Master in heaven. “

Now I will be the first to admit that balancing being a Christian and acting like one while running the business can be very difficult. We were hired to run a profitable business, not to save people, however, we as Christians are commanded to spread the good news of Christ.

So at the end of the day, with God’s help I will be a boss my employees can trust, I will make my expectations clear and expect excellence, I won’t play favorites and I will strive to build up my team not intimidate them. I will respectfully convey the message that we have a job to do and  I expect them to do it. Respect begets respect.

Though I was hired in the earthly fashion, I was placed in this role of leadership by God and I shall do my best to uphold the privilege of being used as an instrument of Christ’s love. I desire nothing more than to hear, “you were a good and faithful servant”

Dottie

……………….and so I ride

Image

Leave a Reply

