Riding for the Son

There was just enough nice weather to make us realize just how much we want to ride. The nice weather also got me to thinking about how I am going to make this riding season count for more than putting miles on the bikes. If you ride a motorcycle I know you agree with me that we ride for freedom, to feel the wind in our hair, to clear the mind, for the way it makes you feel, for the thrill and risk of riding, for the exhilaration. These are the reasons I ride and these are a few of the reasons I was given when I asked a few friends of ours who ride also.

But there are so many more things that riding a motorcycle gives you. 1 Corinthians 15:58 tells us that if we really believe and if we are truly thankful that our resurrection is sure, we should demonstrate our assurance and our thankfulness by standing firm, letting nothing move us, and always give ourselves full to the work of the Lord.

You mean riding isn’t all about catching the wind, feeling the freedom and watching the yellow lines fade? ……………………….and always give ourselves full to the work of the Lord. Oh man what would happen in my world if I spend as much on working for the Lord as I do buying bling for my bike and gulp, the coveted Harley apparel.

Ephesians 4:14 tells us to be careful not to be tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming. Take your mind off the importance of cultivating your mission and heaven forbid you will find yourself abandoning yourself to the ways and standards of the world, if you love a certain brand bike, you are likely to find nothing wrong with spending every last penny on the emblem splashed across your clothing and giving what is left to your mission.

With that said let me say that I realize some ride purely for what riding gives them, but I firmly think that there is more to riding my motorcycle than simply riding my motorcycle, it is supposed to fit into how I help to get the story of salvation out there, I know it is.  But it doesn’t work to dress in your leathers, put on your colors, fire the bike up, ride to church, ride back home and have that be the extend of your outreach. For me, I am quite sure that I am called to get beyond the walls of our church, not that that isn’t important, it is, but honestly, how many unsaved are you going to run into there.

Everything I have God gave me and we are in charge of our money, time, energy, talents, gifts, bodies, minds and spirits. What’s more we are to invest in nothing that does not in some way contribute to the work of the Lord. I feel a burning desire to take what God has given me and run with it.

Now riding with friends can be a wonderful experience and full of fellowship and camaraderie, and great fun but unless you let your God light shine, a motorcycle ride is just a motorcycle ride.  Simply put, our responsibility lies in working for the Lord, whether it is behind the pulpit at church on Sunday, ministering to those less fortunate than ourselves or by riding “for the Son” Our work won’t be in vain, He tells us that, it is the Lord Christ we are serving, let’s let Him guide our journey.

So put on your leathers, fire up the bike and ride with the wind till you find someone to share the good news with! That my friends are where freedom can be found!

I think I will.

Dottie

……………….and so I ride.

Image

Leave a Reply

