Take responsibility for your life!

There are those who take responsibility for their lives and their decisions and there are those who do not. I am looking inside this morning and trying to decide which I am. However even more than that I want to come to the decision that no matter what I find, it is in my power to change it.

Galatians 6:5 says that we each have to bear our own load and Proverbs 28:13 says that if we conceal our transgressions we won’t prosper.

It seems we need to buck up and admit where we have been wrong, where we have been straddling the fence and where we have been blaming others and take ownership of our lives.

The way we duck, dodge and weave around them you would think that responsibilities are a rare thing but they aren’t, responsibilities are something we all have, and that we have daily. It would seem as with anything we get a lot of practice doing we would be very good at living up to our responsibilities, unfortunately, that isn’t always true. OUCH.

I think I will try to look at responsibility in a positive light instead of as something to avoid. Responsibility can mean liberty, freedom and power. It can mean self-respect and satisfaction. I love what George O’Neil says, “When we have begun to take charge of our lives, to own ourselves, there is no longer any need to ask permission of someone.”

Instead of standing in our own way we are willing to forge ahead with a new boldness and the best part, when we make mistakes, we have the courage to admit it with dignity and grace and try again.

I don’t want to look back over my life and be ashamed by what I see.

I guess the bottom line is I am a follower of Jesus Christ and that sets me apart. I have a higher calling and that is enough to give me pause and consider my conduct at each turn.

It might be much easier to point the finger of blame at someone else when things do not go well, but it certainly doesn’t not seem profitable.

I think today is the day I take responsibility for my life!

Dottie

…………and so I ride

Image

Leave a Reply

