Cleaning Up

I remember it like it was yesterday. I was visiting my Grandparents and we needed to make a quick trip to the store for some bread. It would take us ten minutes tops to be there and back home, but my Grandma had to change her dress, change her shoes and put lipstick on. Heaven forbid if someone saw us in our everyday work clothes and not all spiffed up. In other words, heaven forbid if someone saw us for who we really were instead of who we wanted them to think we were.

I think that is hard for a lot of people. I think it applies to a lot of people where Jesus is concerned also. I have heard friends say to me that they knew they were going to hell so why pretend differently, a lot of people think they have to clean up their act before they can come to Jesus.

That’s a hard one for me to address with people, my first reaction tends to be “are you nuts, why do you think He died for you? Don’t you realize He died long before you walked this earth?” But the little filter widget on my shoulder is whispering “idle down there hot rod, simply explain it to them”

Jesus doesn’t say go get your good clothes on then we will talk. He says, 28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Matthew 11:28

We don’t hear, clean the house, do the dishes and make sure you clean out all the closets and sweep the corners, and for goodness sake don’t sweep the dirt under the rug.  God says He shows His love for us by sending Jesus to die for us while we were still sinners. Romans 5:8

We don’t hear “Let’s hang out after the spring cleaning is done”, we hear that the Son of Man came to seek and save the lost. Luke 19:10

I love that He meets us where we are, no matter the condition we are in. It is an invitation to all that need Him, it is a welcome home without conditions. However, we must always remember that God is, Lord of Heaven and Earth, He is the Holy of Holies and the Great “I am”, and as such, reverence and respect is always expected.

However, once home He begins to refresh and change us as we submit in obedience and love. He changes us so that we can show others that “come on in and make yourself at home, means just that”. Don’t be afraid of tracking up the floor, just come in, as the saying goes, He leaves the light on

Dottie.

 Image

Leave a Reply

