Let’s Try Something New This Year

Isaiah 43:19

For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will  make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.

Here we are again, at the start of a new year, a new beginning, a fresh start. I am determined to make this year different, starting with resolutions. I don’t want to make a resolution, follow it for two weeks and go back to the same old stuff that wasn’t working.

There has got to be a better way, there has got to be some great secret to making lasting changes, changes that can transform a life. I am pretty sure  that it does not involve breaking the Rankin bank, buying all the latest, greatest, easiest and “guaranteed” to transform your life gadgets.  I am pretty sure that it also doesn’t mean to focus on one earthly area exclusively and letting all other areas of our lives fall by the wayside.

Don’t get me wrong, we all make resolutions and make them with the best of intentions. But the mistake we make is to try to make those resolutions work under our own power. I know, we can and do get places under our own power………………..but usually only for awhile and only to a certain degree.

How do we know what God has in store for us unless we trust Him enough to give Him the chance to do it?

Maybe a better way to do it would be to make our resolutions and then turn them over to God, tap into the power He can provide to transform us.

It seems like when it comes right down to it, healthy or unhealthy living comes down to desire and the fact our lives revolve around those things we  desire. In fact our desires can get us in a bit of hot water now and again, depending on what it is we are lusting after.

The things we desire come in all shapes and sizes, money, food, alcohol, power, control, career, keeping up  with the jones, having the most, the biggest and the best.

What I failed to realize is that my focus in on the wrong desire. I asked God to give me an all consuming and overwhelming desire to be healthy. Healthy #1 Spiritually #2 Mentally#3 Physically

I truly believe that if I focus my attention 100% on seeking God that the rest will fall into place. It might not fall into place as easily or as quickly  as I want it to but it will fall into place just as God has planned it to.

I need the desire to be more than lukewarm, I don’t want it to be a feeling of “I want to be healthy but I’ll do it my way” We all know how that works out for us. I need this desire to be a powerful desire, a desire that comes from my heart and is governed by and powered through  my Almighty God.

I know I am on a spiritual journey and as with any journey, it is easy to get sidetracked. It is called a rabbit chase in a bible study I attend. But the bottom line is I am tired of compromising and settling for second best, I am tired of not being comfortable in my own skin. I want my spiritual journey to lead me exactly where God wants me to end up, therefore in this spiritual journey I have to make sensible and realistic choices.

I do believe with my whole heart that God has a plan for each of us, a plan of great detail from beginning to end.

I do believe that if our number one desire is for God that the rest will fall into place as it is supposed to and by shifting our focus to God, we can have all we desire.

Happy 2014 my friends!

Dottie

Image

One thought on “Let’s Try Something New This Year

  1. Finding God Daily says:

    You are so right! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

