When life gets tough.

I know that it is popular to say that if God brings us to it He will bring us through it, that God will use bad situations for our good and He doesn’t give us more than we can handle. But what about the times you find yourself in a situation that no matter how deep you dig you cannot see the good, you can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel and you feel your strength slipping away under the load? What do we do then?
This morning I am holding onto this verse. 1Peter 1:6-7
6 So be truly glad. [a] There is wonderful joy ahead, even though you have to endure many trials for a little while. 7 These trials will show that your faith is genuine. It is being tested as fire tests and purifies gold—though your faith is far more precious than mere gold. So when your faith remains strong through many trials, it will bring you much praise and glory and honor on the day when Jesus Christ is revealed to the whole world.
I will go forth with my eyes on Jesus and Jesus only and I will pray.
Father, deliver me from the power of darkness and show me how to shield myself with the armor of your strength. Help me to walk with you daily and to turn my eyes away from those things that are a hindrance to my walk with you.
Deliver me Father from the unhealthy holds that are present in my life, help me to see you as the most important thing in my life. Help me to seek your holy ground.
Create in me a hunger and a thirst for you that is unquenchable; fill me with your knowledge and wisdom. Show me the way I should go and help me to be a doer of your word and not just a hearer of your word.
Create a space in my heart for you and give me an escape for every temptation. Bring me to the calling you have pre-destined me for Father.
Take my heart and heal it, heal my pain and give me vision to see the situation clearly. Show me how to pray, show me how to love, please Lord, just show me how to survive difficult times.
Give me the strength to hand over to you my problems and to leave them in your hands. Heal the hurt within me. Create in me the need to seek you first, nourish my mind and my soul for an intimate relationship with you first.
Help me Father to quit worrying about those things which I have handed over to you. Help me to forget those things that make me crazy, that hinder my walk with you and help me to let you do your job.
I want to walk with you not only daily, but hourly and even minute by minute. I want to share everything with you, the good, the bad and everything in between.
Help me to recognize the lies Satan loves to feed me and help me to hear your voice strong and clear in those times.
God I know that you can do exceedingly and abundantly above all I can think, imagine or ask. I know and believe that you are greater than anything I am facing, you are greater than the pain I am feeling and I truly can do all things with you by my side strengthening me.
When others are throwing hatred and lies at me, things that have no other intent but to hurt me, help me to remember that you alone have the strength I need to stand strong.
Help me to see that emotions lie, it doesn’t matter what I am feeling, you alone are truth. My God, you truly are an awesome God, you are an all-weather God. Thank you for helping me hold on.
Dottie

Leave a Reply

