Hard Decisions

The joy of the season, the smiles and giggles of the kids, the bright lights and twinkling stars, children’s giggles and animated excitement are evident in our school these days. The Christmas spirit is in high gear as the calendar speeds towards the 25th. It is a holly, jolly Christmas.

Life seems to be centered on the holiday but behind the scenes the program business is still rolling along, tough decisions are being made, business must go on even during the holidays. In my job as in every other part of my life, I try to do the right thing, even if the right thing is the hardest thing.

When you are the one in charge of making the tough choices you have to have a clear goal and realize that in any given situation where you have to make a tough decision, there are lots of “easy answers” and one very difficult, albeit, right choice.

There is no question as to what the outcome has to be, no question at all, but that does not change the fact that it will be hard, painful, challenging and scary.

Sometimes the reasoning, research, guidance and prayer that went into hard decisions are not obvious to those the decision affects. That in turn results in hard feelings (no matter how you try to explain), harsh words and hurt feelings are common reactions in situations like this.

So how do you walk through the tough choices? Well for me, I ask myself these questions. The first question I ask myself is, “How do I make this decision from a Christian perspective” for me, the easy answer to that is…………………..to make my decisions from a Christian perspective. Really.

I am called to make all decisions, in connection with my Lord Jesus Christ, in total dependence on Him, with a humble attitude, a courageous attitude and joy in my heart that He is ready and available to help me.

I took the Proverbs scripture (11:14) seriously and I covered the decision in prayer. God made me a promise, ask and it will be given, so I ask.

#1 Pray

#2 Ask myself the following questions, will this be spiritually profitable, will it glorify God, is it fair, have I done my research, is this right decision for my program, have I looked at all sides, have I taken emotion and personal desires out of it?

#3 Pray

#4 Realize that not everyone around me is going to think the same way I do and not be surprised, hurt or angered by it. There could be several reasons for this. They have not done the working through the problem process I have done, they are emotionally invested, they have blinders on, they don’t see the full picture, others make just as big sacrifices and the hardships are not just one sided, well just lots and lots of reasons.

#5, Just do it.

Listing pros and cons is always a good thing, on the surface at least, but sometimes it can be a little bit like comparing apples to Christmas trees and you can get more confused than ever. I try to stick to researchable facts that can be measured and are justifiable.

I want to do the right thing, I want to please everyone and all sides, I want no hard feelings, no angry words and a positive transition. I am finding that is impossible, we are human, I have no control over the actions of others, then there is Murphy’s Law, which comes into play at the most inopportune times.

But once again I go back to what I said earlier, the right decisions are not always the easiest decisions and doing the will of God is not necessarily the easy answer, but that doesn’t mean it is not the right answer.

The bottom line is I have faith in the process used to make tough choices and am willing to stand behind tough decisions and won’t cave to peer pressure. I know that I didn’t make uninformed decisions but more importantly I had the very best guidance available to me and I utilitzed it. Thank you God, for being my wisdom, my guidance, my biggest cheerleader and my comfort when the “leader” seat got/gets hot. I stand in the wings of God’s Greatness.

So after I have achieved #’s 1,2,3 and 4. I move to #5 and leave the rest to God.

I have come to realize that often, doing the right thing doesn’t mean others will love you for it but others opinions do not alter the fact that the right thing is the right thing.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take” (Proverbs 3:5-6, NLT).

DottieImage

Leave a Reply

