A Personal Road Captain for the Journey.

Psalm 48:14 For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end.

I ask for guidance all the time and I know God answers my prayers. I have seen it happen again and again. However, I am human to the core and I not only need guidance, I need a detailed map, that has the plan laid out step by step with landmarks, photos, directions and a road captain.

This makes me think of our 4000 mile motorcycle vacation this summer, we had all the modern technological navigation devices available to man, we had a couple of GPS devices, and everyone had a map application on their phone. But that didn’t change the fact that we ended up turning around and going back to find the right road (a lot), then finally huddled somewhere along the route with Earl, Bob Welch and John P McClelland hauling the old standard, paper maps out of the saddle bags to help us find our way.

ImageImage

It would have helped if we would have had someone along the way who knew the way and the plan intimately and who made sure we interpreted the information correctly. We didn’t however and we encountered many wrong turns, detours and aggravation but we did eventually arrive at our destination!

Like I mentioned earlier, I ask for guidance all the time, for personal reasons, to guide me at work, for every situation you can imagine. What I tend to forget is that I do have a personal Road Captain, I do have someone along with me who knows the details of the plan and who knows the way.
However, that human part of me likes to strike out on my own without waiting for God, my Road Captain and that causes countless detours and at times the road gets washed out completely and I have to start over from the beginning.

Though Earl, Bob and John got us to our destination and I love all three of them dearly, God is my Road Captain, the Bible is my detailed map and the Holy Spirit is always available to nudge me back on course.

It is nice to have a personally guided tour available to me.

Dottie

Leave a Reply

