Be Thankful!

Be Thankful

We all have so many things to be thankful for. Our families, our kids, our parents, our cozy homes, nice vehicles, good jobs, great friends. Those are things that jump right out at you and let you know life is good. There is so much more to be thankful for though, the things that don’t jump out at you, the things we take for granted.

I have to give a huge shout out to my sister Cindy Fischer. She is one of the silent heroes of our society and I don’t know where I would be without her. She is the main caretaker of my Mom and Dad both who are critically ill.
She takes care of them with courage, grace and dedication and never, ever have I heard her complain. Believe me, being a caretaker to aging parents is a thankless job but to her I am grateful.

I am thankful to my parents for giving me the kind of childhood that most only dream of. When trying to think of one thing bad about my childhood years, there aren’t many. But there are lots of special memories. My childhood was all about family, a rural, country school, 4-H, selling sweet corn to have spending money, the county fair, being on the school volleyball and basketball team because it was fun, taking turns spending the night at schoolmates houses, riding my motorcycle over to see the neighbor boys, lol, chores in the morning and evening, church on Sunday then a Sunday drive, swimming in Holyoke because there was a heated pool there and stopping at the “Sweet Shop” for ice cream on the way home. . Those are memories I am thankful for.

My parents made holiday’s special, magical even. Santa was always celebrated in our house, there were presents under the tree, meals were huge, (chili, chicken noodle soup and oyster stew for Christmas Eve and turkey all the trimmings for Christmas dinner, and the whole family was always there. There were celerations at the school where the whole school, parents, grandparents, everyone showed up, brought covered dishes and box suppers to be auctioned. Santa was always present at school also, we got sacks of apples, oranges and hard Christmas candy. The students showed their talents in a skit or by singing for the parents and grandparents. To say I am grateful for these memories would be understating it.

Summers in Ashland with my grandparents and cousins and aunt and uncle hold many, many special memories for which I am thankful.

I have the greatest staff in the world at work. They have stood behind me through some tough, tough times, always giving the extra 1000% that is needed and doing it with a smile on their faces. Without them we would not have survived the last year. To say thank you hardly seems adequate.

Do you know how amazing it is to have a job that isn’t just a job. It is who we are and what we do. To be able to be involved with the incredible families we are involved with everyday is the most incredible experience ever.

The immeasurable comfort of having true friends that live with truth, honesty, courage and dignity as a way of life.

A marriage that is based on God’s truth and a husband I adore with every ounce of my being, kids that I love with my whole heart.

So God, to you I give the glory. You have blessed me in ways that cannot be counted and I forget to say thank you.

Dottie

Be Thankful
~ Author Unknown ~
Thanks for not having
Be thankful that you don’t already have everything you desire.
If you did, what would there be to look forward to?

Thanks for lacking knowledge
Be thankful when you don’t know something,
for it gives you the opportunity to learn.

Thanks for difficult times
Be thankful for the difficult times.
During those times you grow.

Thanks for limitations
Be thankful for your limitations,
because they give you opportunities for improvement.

Thanks for challenges
Be thankful for each new challenge,
because it will build your strength and character.

Thanks for mistakes made
Be thankful for your mistakes.
They will teach you valuable lessons.

Thanks for exhaustion
Be thankful when you’re tired and weary,
because it means you’ve made the effort.

Thanks for setbacks
It’s easy to be thankful for the good things.
A life of rich fulfillment comes to those who
are also thankful for the setbacks.

Thanks for troubles
Gratitude can turn a negative into a positive.
Find a way to be thankful for your troubles,
and they can become your blessings.

Leave a Reply

