To change the way we act in the workplace is hard. It doesn’t matter if you are the boss like I am or an employee, before God we all have certain responsibilities in the workplace.

It is pretty easy to get sucked up in the drama at work and forget a couple pretty important facts. #1 We are to “work enthusiastically and whole heartedly as if we are serving Christ, not men” and #2 we need to ask (not demand) for help.

I will say it again, to change the way we act in the workplace is hard. Ephesians 6:7 says to “serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men.” I try my very best to be fair and honest and a boss they can trust but where that gets a little prickly for me and hard to do at times, I’ll admit it, is treating all staff with the same respect and dignity.  no matter their attitude or how they are treating me or others. I am still held to a certain standard. We are after all, “one in Christ” Galatians 3:28.

I am certainly there for the families we serve, I love the people they are and the people they become through our program, but the bottom line is I am serving God, first and foremost, in my work, and at my workplace.

There is one answer to this. Being on my knees (in prayer) enables me to stand. For I know and I hold it dear  the fact that God indeed does work , in all things, for the good of those who love Him. Romans 8:28. I wrap this around me like a warm, comforting blanket and rest in that knowledge, safe and secure.

Like David, I ask you God, for your guidance. I ask you to “show me your ways, teach me your paths, guide me in your truth and always, always help me remember that my hope, the only real and true hope, is in  you.

Dottie

Image

To change the way we act in the workplace is hard………………

Leave a Reply

