Now what?

As I am walking through life and the road it is taking me down I am finding there is not one thing I am going through that God doesn’t have an answer for. Recently there have been some very hurtful things happening and they just seem to keep coming. I am going to try to wade through this today. Hang on and I hope the road doesn’t twist and turn so much you get lost. Here we go…………

Matthew 12:36, “But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment.”

Wow, that puts a whole different light on gossip doesn’t it? How would my actions and words change if I really stopped to think that everything I do, both good and bad, is being recorded by God, not only recorded but that I am going to have to account for my words and actions. So God gives us some instructions.
Colossians 4:4 says “Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.”

Let you conversation be always full of grace seems pretty self explanatory but seasoned with salt we have to be a little careful with. To me seasoned with salt means a couple of things, it should be “tasty” as salt enhances flavor but salt also makes one thirsty and wanting more. So to recap, to season a conversation with salt means it is tasty and leaves us wanting more. The problem lies in the fact that we are human and the conversations that we find tasty and wanting more of are not always encouraging to others, in fact sometimes those conversations are downright hurtful and destructive. It can be gossip, tearing down of character or of a more evil nature, sabotage either overt or covert.

Gossip runs rampant in our society at all levels, we all know that. A little gossip here and there can very easily turn into a way of life. But what about when you find out someone is purposely doing things that are not in your best interest (trying to be politically correct). What if you do not find this out from a friend, or a co-worker or a loved one, what if you find this out from an authority figure in your life. What then?

Well when I turned on my phone this morning and went to my devotional app, the verse of the day was Luke 6: 27-28, “But to you who are willing to listen, I say, love your enemies! Do good to those who hate you. Bless those who curse you. Pray for those who hurt you”

SAY WHAT??????? Now certain parts of that I can swallow, “pray for those who hurt you” yes I can do that, but love , bless and do good to them too? How am I supposed to do that? I think it sounds easier to take just a part of the scripture, the part I like and is easy, and call it good. Well, despite worldly appearances I don’t think it is supposed to work that way.

I know I have a tattoo that I got long ago of Isaiah 40:29-31. He gives me promises that I can hold near, like a life jacket, I can wrap those promises around me and stay afloat as I walk on with dignity, grace and determination.

He will give me power and strength to weather the story, wisdom to make the right choices and dignity and grace to glorify Him with those choices.

Isaiah 40:29-31
He gives power to the weak
and strength to the powerless.
Even youths will become weak and tired,
and young men will fall in exhaustion.
But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
They will soar high on wings like eagles.
They will run and not grow weary.
They will walk and not faint.

Dottie

Leave a Reply

